• No results found

In 1933 the Provisional Committee of Women's College was granted by Act of Parliament five and a half acres on which to establish a college for women. The foundation stone of University Women's College (now known as University College) was laid in 1937 by Lady Huntingdon, wife of the Governor-General.

The first wing of the College (the Georgina Sweet Wing) was not yet completed when the College opened but by the following year, with the opening of the Constance Ellis Wing in August 1938, the College had 42 students and 4 residential tutors. In the coming years the College rapidly expanded and the wings of Syme (1953), Fraser (1958), Roper (1963) and Williams (1965) were added to the original building. Today the College accommodates 162 students and 10 resident tutors. The two separate buildings of academic apartments designed by Daryl Jackson Architects (opened in 1996 and 1997) provide self-catering accommodation for senior visiting academics. The College also boasts two further buildings designed by renowned architect, Daryl Jackson, the Dr Greta Hort Memorial Library and the Head's Residence.

Although originally a college for women, in 1975 the Council passed a minute giving the Principal the discretion to enrol men, providing that there were no suitable women applicants. Since that date, the College has grown as a place of residence and learning for both men and women while still retaining a mission to ensure that women have every encouragement to attain their full personal and scholarly potential.

Whilst mainly a College for undergraduate students, University College has always encouraged enrolments of overseas and postgraduate residents. Many of the first overseas women studying at the University were residents of Women's College - particularly those studying under the Colombo Plan. Since its inception the College has enrolled many overseas and exchange students and the community now enjoys the benefits of a strong overseas alumni. The two apartment buildings reserved for visiting academics provide a further dimension to the Senior Common Room which has an active involvement in the academic and cultural life of the undergraduate students.

The names of successive Principals of the College can be found in the "Lists of Former Principal Members"

section in this Calendar.

President of the Council

Mrs Ruth Bunyan, BSc DipEd MACE MACEA Principal

Mrs Heather Hewitt, BA DipEd MAPS MACE Fellows of the College

Dr Jean Blackburn, DipEd Adel. BCom DEd

Dr Ursula Hoff, AO OBE, PhD Hamburg DLitt Monash FAHA Professor Nancy Millis, PhD Bristol MAgrSc

Mr D W Rogers, LLB

Professor Virginia Spate, MA Cantab. PhD Bryn Mawr MA Dean of Students

Ms Brenda Irwin, BA ACTT GrDipSpecEd Associate Dean

Mr Bruce Wilson, BSc DipEd MEd Sub Deans

Mr Chris Lamb

Mr Garth Wright, PostGradDipAnthrop.




Medical Officer

Dr Ileene MacDonald, MB ChB Pret. PhD Librarian

Ms Karen Sydow, BA AALIA College Tutorial Staff


Anthropology: Garth Wright, PostGradDipAnthrop History: Barry Collett, MA TSTC PhD Oxf.

Philosophy: Arthur O'Neill, BSc WA

Psychology: Warrick Brewer, BPsych JamesCook MA Commerce

Accounting: Beth Gordon, BCom WA

Economics: Steven Carew, BCom GradDipAppFin&Invest Law

Business Law and Torts: Malcolm Quirey, LLM Qld SJD Bond BA LLB Medicine/Health Sciences

Anatomy: Mark Wescott, MB BS Medical Chemistry: Beata Stasiak, BSc Physiology: Helen Law, BSc Br.Col.


First Year Music: Martin Greet, MMus GradDipHum LaTrobe Science

Biology: Mildred Cerini, PhD Chemistry: Beata Stasiak, BSc Physics: Craig Everton, BAppSc

Mathematics: Bruce Wilson, BSc MEd DipEd Statistics: Roslyn Steel, BSc MEd DipEd Duty Tutors

Beth Gordon, BCom Tim Johnston, BArch Arthur O'Neill, BSc WA Roslyn Steel, BSc MEd DipEd Karen Sydow, BA AALIA


The College provides an extensive program of curriculum based tutorials and a series of specialist seminars in a variety of discplines. Where the College does not provide tutorials, arrangements are made for residents to attend tutorials at one of the neighbouring colleges.

The academic program is open to non-resident students who may also use the College facilities and may take meals in the Hall.



For Resident undergraduate students

Registration Fee (payable on application) $20

Enrolment Fee $310

Annual Fees $8,587

These fees cover College charges for residence, tuition and service during 31 weeks of the Academic Year, based on the University of Melbourne Academic Year. Graduate fees vary with academic duties.

Where possible, arrangements will be made for students to live in College during vacation periods if they have to follow recognized courses of study. The charge for vacation residence is $37 per day. The only additional regular cost is subscription to the Students' Club ($85).

College fees are usually paid in two instalments, but special arrangements may be made in case of financial difficulty.

For Non-Resident Students

Registration Fee (payable on application) $20

Enrolment Fee $310

Fee per tutorial subject per semester $80


Entrance scholarships are awarded annually to first year students on the basis of Victorian Certificate of Education, and other scholarships on the basis of University examination results.

Bursary assistance is available to any student in financial difficulty.


Applications are welcomed from postgraduates for these positions.


Further information and application forms may be obtained from the Head of College, University College, College Crescent, Parkville, Victoria 3052, telephone 9347 3533, fax 9347 1549.



Related documents