• No results found

University College


In 1933 the Provisional Committee of Women's College was granted by Act of Parliament five and a half acres on which to establish a college for women. The foundation stone of University Women's College (now known as University College) was laid in 1937 by Lady Huntingdon, wife of the Governor-General.

The first wing of the College (the Georgina Sweet Wing) was not yet completed when the College opened but by the following year, with the opening of the Constance Ellis Wing in August 1938, the College had 42 students and 4 residential tutors. In the coming years the College rapidly expanded and the wings of Syme (1953), Fraser (1958), Roper (1963) and Williams (1965) were added to the original building. Today the College accommodates 162 students and 10 resident tutors. The two separate buildings of academic apartments designed by Daryl Jackson Architects (opened in 1996 and 1997) provide self-catering accommodation for senior visiting academics. The College also boasts two further buildings designed by renowned architect, Daryl Jackson, the Dr Greta Hort Memorial Library and the Head's Residence.

Although originally a college for women, in 1975 the Council passed a minute giving the Principal the discretion to enrol men, providing that there were no suitable women applicants. Since that date, the College has grown as a place of residence and learning for both men and women while still retaining a mission to ensure that women have every encouragement to attain their full personal and scholarly potential.

Whilst mainly a College for undergraduate students, University College has always encouraged enrolments of overseas and postgraduate residents. Many of the first overseas women studying at the University were residents of Women's College - particularly those studying under the Colombo Plan. Since its inception the College has enrolled many overseas and exchange students and the community now enjoys the benefits of a strong overseas alumni. The two apartment buildings reserved for visiting academics provide a further dimension to the Senior Common Room which has an active involvement in the academic and cultural life of the undergraduate students.

The names of successive Principals of the College can be found in the "Lists of Former Principal Members"

section in this Calendar.

President of Council

Mrs Ruth Bunyan, BSc DipEd MACE MACEA

Head of College

Mrs Heather Hewitt, BA DipEd MAPS MACE

Fellows of the College

Dr Jean Blackburn, DipEd (Adel). BCom DEd

Dr Ursula Hoff, AO OBE, PhD (Hamburg) DLitt (Monash) FAHA Prof Nancy Millis, PhD (Bristol) MAgrSc

Mr D W Rogers, LLB

Prof Virginia Spate, MA (Cant). PhD (Bryn Mawr) MA


Ms Karen Sydow, BA, MLIS, AALIA

Medical Adviser

Dr Ileene MacDonald, MB ChB (Pret.) PhD




Mrs George-Ann Sullivan, DipPhysEd (Melb) BEd (Monash) GradDipCareers (RMIT) Resident Advisers:

Mr John Bourke, LLB (Syd) LLM (Monash) Dr Barry Collett, BA MA TSTC DPhil (Oxon) Mr Tim Johnston, BA (Monash) BArch (NSW) Mr Chris Lamb

Ms Helen Law, BSc (Canada) ProfDipDiagRadiol (Hong Kong) Mr Tim O'Shannassy, PgDipEco (Melb) BCom (Melb) MBA (Monash)

Ms Penny Swain, DipBusAdmin (Leeds)

Mr Bruce Wilson, BSc (Melb) Dip Ed (Melb) MEd (Monash) Mr Garth Wright, PgDipAnthrop (Melb)

Academic Tutors & Subject Mentors Architecture, Building & Planning

Mr Tim Johnston, BA (Monash) BArch (NSW)

Anthropology: Mr Garth Wright, PostGradDipAnthrop (Melb) English: Mr John Swain, BA (Monash) MA (York)

Fine Arts, Classics & Archaeology: Ms Christine Rollinson, BA BLitt (Melb) History: Dr Barry Collett, BA MA TSTC DPhil (Oxon)

Psychology: Mr Warrick Brewer, BPsych (James Cook) MA Commerce

Accounting & Finance: Ms Jacqueline Birt, BEd (Melb) BBus (RM1T) Economics: Mr Ben Goodsir

Econometrics: Mr Chris Hillas, BAppSc (Mathematics) (R1v1IT) Dip.Ed (Melb) Computer Science

Mr Owen de Kretser, BSc (Melb) BEng (Melb) Engineering

Mr Andrew Barber, BEng (Chem), MEngSc (Melb) Mr Paul Minty, BEng , MEngSc


Prof Fred Davidson, BA, MA Illinois, PhD UCLA

Ms Criona Jennings, BA (Melb) GradDipEd (Melb) MA (Melb) Law

Mr John Bourke, LLB (Syd.) LLM (Monash) Medicine/Health Sciences

Anatomy: Dr Ooi Boon Swee , MBBS (Sing) FRCS (Edin) Ms Kerrie Walter, BAppSc (Physiotherapy) (Melb)

Chemistry: Mr Ben Capuano, BSc (Applied Chemistry) (RMIT) MPharm (VCP) Physics: Mr John Markham, BEng (Swinburne) BSc (Melb)

Physiology: Ms Helen Law, BSc (Canada) ProfDipDiagRadiol (Hong Kong) Music

Mr Martin Greet, BA MMus, GradDip Humanities (Composition)

Equity & Social Policy Adviser Academic Program Adviser

Cultural & Leisure Activities Adviser Student Facilities Adviser

International Students Adviser Amenities Adviser

Professional Development Adviser Student Welfare Adviser

Information Technology Adviser




Biochemistry: Mr Rohan Steel, BSc (Melb)

Biology: Dr Mildred Smith, BSc (Melb) MSc (Monash) PhD (Melb) LLB (Melb) Chemistry: Mr Ben Capuano, BSc (Applied Chemistry) (RMIT) MPharm (VCP) Mathematics: Mr Bruce Wilson, BSc (Melb) Dip Ed (Melb) MEd (Monash) Physics: Mr John Markham, BEng (Swinbume) BSc (Melb)

Statistics: Mr Barry Horridge, BSc (Melb) Dip Ed (Melb) Resident Research Fellows:

Dr Hanna Amira, BDSc (Cairo)

Prof Felix Beck, MB,ChB (Birm.) LRCP MRSC (Lond.) MD DSc (Birm.) Dr Catherin Bull, MArch (Landscape) (Melb) PhD (Design) (Harv.) Prof Fred Davidson, BA, MA (Illinois) PhD (UCLA)

Prof David Elkins, BA (Yale) PhD (Berkeley) Prof Steven Gaulin, BA (Calif.) PhD (Harv.)

Dr Volker Kirchberg, MA (Social Work), Dip Soc, PhD (Hamburg) Dr Nils Kroger, BSc, PhD (Regensberg)

Dr Neil Langlois, MB, BChB, MA (Camb.) MRCPath (Lond.) Prof Colin Morley, MA MD (Cant.) FRCP FRCPCH

Dr Ruth Morley, BA MB Bchir (Cant.) FRCPCH Prof Sven-Erik Sandlund, BMus MMus (Stockholm)

Prof Allan Schneider, BA (Rensslare Polytechnic) MChEng (Penn.) PhD (Berkeley) Dr Seiju Takami, MD (Wakayama) PhD, (Osaka)

Prof Oscar Hauptman, BEng (Ind Eng & Management) (Haifa) MSc (MIT) PhD (Harv.) Associate Non Resident Members:

Dr Lynette Dumble, MSc PhD (Melb) Ms Rebecca French, LLB (WA) LLM (Melb)

Dr Saman Halgamuge, BSc (Sri Lanka) Dipl-Ing (Comp Eng), DrIng (CompEng) (DUT Germany) Prof Stephen Kahler, MD (Duke) AB (Princeton)

Ms Genevieve Leach, BA (Melb) DipSpecEd Ms Ronnith Morris, BA (Melb) MA (Melb) Mr Tim Szlachetko, BA ( (Melb) MA (Melb)


University College provides an extensive program of curriculum based tutorials, specialised seminars, guest speakers, and individual discipline based consultations. Where the College does not provide tutorials, arrangements are made for residents to attend tutorials at one of the neighbouring colleges.

The Academic Program is open to non-resident students who may also use the College facilities and may take meals in Hall.


For Resident undergraduate students Registration Fee (payable on application) Enrolment Fee $20

$335 Annual Fees

$9,114 These fees cover College charges for residence, tuition and service during 31 weeks of the Academic Year, based on the University of Melbourne Academic Year. Graduate fees vary with academic duties.




Where possible, arrangements will be made for students to live in College during vacation periods if they have to follow recognized courses of study. The charge for vacation residence is $42 per day. The only additional regular cost is subscription to the Students' Club ($90).

College fees are usually paid in two instalments, but special arrangements may be made in case of financial difficulty.

For Non-Resident Students

Registration Fee (payable on application) $20

Enrolment Fee $100

Student Club Fee $90

Fee per tutorial subject per semester $80


Entrance scholarships are awarded annually to first year students on the basis of Victorian Certificate of Education, and other scholarships on the basis of University examination results.

Bursary assistance is available to any student in financial difficulty.

Related documents